President Bill Maki

Bill Maki

Northeast Higher Education District
Northeast Higher Education District is a consortium of Hibbing Community College, Itasca Community College, Mesabi Range College, Rainy River Community College, and Vermilion Community College

1001 Chestnut Street West
Virginia, MN 55792
Phone: (218) 471-0015
Fax: (218) 471-0017

Appointed: July 1, 2015

Previous Positions:

  • Vice president of finance and administration, Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College
  • Chief financial and facilities officer, Northeast Higher Education District
  • Dean of student and administrative services, Itasca Community College
  • Coordinator of finance and facilities, Northeast Higher Education District
  • Director of finance and facilities, Itasca Community College
  • Business Manager, Itasca Community College
  • Director of fiscal operations, Duluth Community College


  • Doctoral of Education Work, University of Minnesota
  • Master of Business Administration, University of Minnesota, Duluth
  • Bachelor of Accounting, University of Minnesota, Duluth
  • Associate of Arts, Vermilion Community College

Professional Licensure/Certifications:

  • Harvard Graduate School Institute for Educational Management
  • Minnesota Partnership for Executive Leadership Development

Professional Organizations:

  • Blandin Foundation, trustee
  • APPA Leadership in Educational Facilities
  • Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education
  • National Association of College and University Business Officers
  • Society for College and University Planning


  • Chair Academy International Exemplary Leader Award, 2010
  • MnSCU Excellence in Financial Management (Team Award, Bemidji State University), 2009-2010
  • MnSCU Outstanding Service Award - Facilities, 2007
  • Itasca Engineering Program Support Award, 2004
  • MnSCU Outstanding Service Award - Finance, 2002
  • MSCSA Student Government Advisor of the Year, 2002
  • MnSCU Excellence in Financial Management (Team Award, Itasca Community College), 1998-2001
  • University of Minnesota, Duluth MBA Fellowship Award, 1998
  • Itasca and Hibbing Engineering Program Support Service Award, 1998
  • Duluth Community College Student Senate Appreciation Award, 1994